Side Repeaters and Dash Console

The front wings on the 110 are both from different eras; one being >Td5 and the other being of unknown vintage. I bought a pair of smoked side repeaters from Powerful UK, one of which fit perfectly in the newer wing, but I needed to create a hole in the older wing so I could fit the other.

The hole is not a uniform shape and looks like this:


I made a cardboard template, then after measuring and re-measuring several times I taped up the other wing and transferred the outline to it:

 
I drilled a couple of pilot holes then carefully took the rest of the material away with an air driven die grinder and belt sander:


Once complete the repeater just clicked into place, really freshening up the look:


While I was in the mood for cutting, I decided to fit the raptor console that has been lying in a box since I got it at the Peterborough show a couple of years ago. I had already fitted the gauges and switches, but installing the console meant cutting a chunk out of the dash. Again it was a case of measure and re-measure, but it was pretty straight forward with the template supplied by Raptor. The foam and vinyl were fut away with a Stanley knife, then the metal with a combination of hacksaws, and angle grinder, and the air belt sander again.

Once everything was cut away it was just a matter of setting the console in place. It will be bolted up securely at a later date. I think this really lifts the look of the interior and gives me loads of flexibility for switching things like heated seats, a winch, spotlights etc.

6 thoughts on “Side Repeaters and Dash Console

      1. WP had an outage a couple of says ago. It went down when I was uploading images to a post. I think they lost their media server which is where the images are stored. My post also lost it’s images. I just re-saved the post and it fixed it.

  1. All working again 🙂 Love those indicator units. Quite fancy a raptor console for our 109″ at some point so we can fit switches and charging points in a more aesthetic way than littered around the dash. Keep up the good work 🙂

Leave a comment